Tuesday, March 29, 2005

On The Cusp of Wednesday

Well, it's Tuesday and I feel like Friday is never going to get here. If someone would have told me long ago that I would have to work full time to enjoy some of the little luxuries in life that I have afforded myself, I would have spent less so I could enjoy more free time now.
Just add this to my never-ending list of "things I wish that I would have known beforehand".

The world seems to be going lilly-nilly lately. With the Schavio case, the earthquake and aftershocks in Indonesia and school shootings, I feel like I just want to go and bury my head in a pot of flowers and hide away until Spring -- maybe then things will be better with the world.

So many thoughts running through my head, where to catalogue them all, where to keep them. My shoebox full of little notes and thoughts and things sure is piling up. I will be that little old lady someday who when she dies, her husband finds a shoebox of her thoughts, wishes, prayers, dreams, writings and other musings of her life. I just know it!

One bright spot today was the introduction of a girl at work. She introduced herself (and I'll be damned if I can remember her name), she politely asked me if I remember a Suzi from high school. Wow! High School; that seems like a million years ago, and being the unpopular girl I always choose to forget most of it. She told me that she has twins now (since Dec 2004), and is married, and not living too far from me. I gave her my email address and in return, (girl whose name escapes me), gave me Suzi's phone number. I will have to try and call her soon. I wonder if she knows where Magie went to. I haven't seen her since she got married a year after high school and moved away.

How time flies. How people change but in so many ways they stay the same person. Similiar to an old book that sits on a shelf just waiting for someone to pick it up, dust it off and re-read it for the fourteenth time. We're all just little kids in adult bodies doing adult chores for the time being.

Well, time for sleep. Need the beauty sleep more than ever lately.


Sunday, March 27, 2005

Reasons I Still Believe In The Easter Bunny

1. I watch television. Every year, he's there clucking along with the chicks in the Cadbury egg commercials.
2. Who do you think delivers all the baskets and stuff, your parents? Doubtful.
3. When I was five, I saw a bunny at the scene of the crime. He put his finger aside his nose, and up the chimney he rose.
4. It was a little cafe somewhere South Dakota, I was young, and yes, I believed everything he told me.
5. Someone has to be posing for those chocolate rabbit molds.

6. Who else has time to color all those eggs? Not me.
7. Yeah, and Peter Rabbit didn't think Mr. McGregor was going to catch him in the cabbage patch either -- get with the times.
8. I had a pet rabbit in the 4th grade, and she told me the whole story.
9. Once, I put a tooth under my pillow, and in the morning I had a marshmallow Easter egg.
10. Someone has to believe in the Easter bunny.

Happy Easter 1

TiVo Making Us Slackers

TiVo'ed. TiVo. TiVo'd. DVR. Or, whatever you want to call it. It beats the VCR all to heck but it sure has taken a toll on the TV watching in our household.
When we had VCRs, (which rarely ever worked right and he said that mine had ugly lines through the picture), we would maybe record something important. I have to say that we really didn't use the VCR thing to it's full potential the whole time that it sat on the shelf with the TV. We did once or twice record a race if we weren't going to be home; but I have to say that I was always the "glass is half empty girl" and I would doubt if it even recorded right. And then, just to be sure I would start recording and then stop it after 30 seconds or so and play it back to make sure that it really recorded. The saga went on and on….looping over and over. Until we finally stopped using it and I sent my VCR to the Goodwill and his went into the closet.
But, as a result of getting TiVo'd, we've become a video slackers. Perhaps the problem wouldn't be so bad if there wasn't so little time in a day to record 'everything' that we think we will watch. That darn TiVo is programmed to automatically record the shows no matter what day or time they air, and since the option of scanning the program guide for the next week is there, we have endless possibilities to ponder.
Then, there is the commercial thing. We have always found that commercials are a waste of time; they're just fillers. But, now with TiVo, we have become accustomed to not watching any. If we do have to watch any, it is quite painful.
We have had so many things recorded by TiVo that they start erasing. Does that say something about how we are choosing to use our time?
And, to think that we want to record 2 things and then watch another show? I think we're pushing the envelope on this and really asking to get blood from that infamous turnip.
Oh, well, I guess the shows that I set to record last week will be deleting soon. I better run and watch them quick instead of doing homework.
Toodles